Still Alive. Survived a Youthquake.

I fell asleep at around 11PM last night.  That’s not too bad for me.  While my body shuts down at around 10PM, I’ll take 11PM over 1:30AM any day of the week. I often have morbid visions of a total apocalypse. Last night, at around 12AM, I thought for sure that the world had come to an end.  Turns out it was just a thunderstorm.  My lovely wife heard the crazy thunder before I did, and she woke me up with “WHAT IS THAT!?  OMIGOSH DID YOU HEAR THAT!?”  Half asleep, I sat up and felt the vibration on the bedroom window.  I was 100% certain that the earth was collapsing.  I guess it’s a good thing that I don’t live in areas prone to earthquakes.

However, YOUTHQUAKES…that’s a completely different story!  Check out this screen cap of a promo for USA’s YOUTHQUAKE!

I have been doing as much research as possible in my free time to prepare for the June launch of Basement Tapes. This is going to be one heck of a show. Those close know that one of the biggest inspirations for MMSBC was USA Network’s Night Flight.  That’s still going to be the case here, but imagine Night Flight + USA Cartoon Express + TNT Monster Vision + MidSouth Wrestling + MST3K – riffing + robots.  It’s going to be awesome.  Some people have asked me who from MMSBC will be back, specifically co-hosts and recurring  characters.  Well, this is truly a fresh start.  While the first episode will forever link it to the original Main Moon Super Buffet Cinema, it will also step forward and boldly exclaim just how different it’s going to be.  If you thought MMSBC was weird…get ready!

Here are some more quickies:

Where can I watch the show?

The show will air weekly on Campbell County Media Central in Northern Kentucky (channel 21) and stream online at the BITPOPTV USTREAM channel.

How long will each episode run?

Right now, the plan is 2 hours.  Any less would just seem pointless.  Ideally, I would love it running all night long.

Which brings me to the next one!  What time will it be on?

Here is the plan…of course this could change, but right now new episodes will air on Saturday nights from 11PM to 1AM.  The previous weeks show will air the following Friday in that same time slot (11PM-1AM)  So!  If you missed a show the week before, no worries.

Is this strictly a B-Movie theater show?

Hardly.  This show is going to be unpredictable, and I mean that in the most controlled way possible.  The idea here, is that I have all of these tapes, and we have no idea what we’re going to find on them.  It’s like opening a new present every week.  Could be 20 years old, could be from 2 weeks ago, and it could be from old Main Moon Productions stuff.  That’s part of the fun!

Who is on board from the old MMP staff?

Well, so far this is a one man show.  My wife will certainly be on the show in some form, and I know some old favorites like Matt Carius, Stan Jones, and Shane-o-Mac would probably stop by for a cameo here and there. Sadly, for Shaft Lawrence, Smooth Mike, and everyone’s favorite, Booty Josh…that ship has sailed. I’m ready to do different things. But, the characters won’t die. They will just live in limbo until I’m completely out of new ideas. (and/or they turn up from parts unknown)

But…but…what about Andy?

Well, my dear friend Andy lives in a competely different part of the country, so he won’t be involved QUITE like he was with MMSBC.  But don’t worry…like I said , Basement Tapes is the same enough for me to consider it a sequel to MMSBC yet different enough for me to think it’s worth going through the trouble.  I think it’ll be really, really good, and I think my plan of attack is pretty strong. If it flops, it won’t be for lack of effort.  With Andy’s involvement I’m kinda keeping my cards close to my vest on this.  Andy doesn’t even know what I have planned for Andy. I’m the producer who cried wolf, so people won’t buy it until they’ve seen it. It should start strong. I don’t think anyone will say, “If this is what you were gonna do, why didn’t you just keep doing Main Moon Super Buffet Cinema?”

*rubs hands together*

Leave a Reply

