By the Power of Spikor

I wonder what memories Nikoh will retain for the rest of his life.  I have plenty of memories from age 1-5.  My boy is a huge fan of scrambled eggs with cheese.  I was too.  I could count my grandmother having it ready for me every single morning.  Scrambled eggs with cheese, and a Flintstones vitamin.  One morning, I woke up, and I reached into my toy box full of Masters of the Universe figures, and I pulled out a figure named SPIKOR!  He had spikes all over his body.  Devilishly clever are the cats at Mattel.  He had a cool hand that looked kinda like a fork.  That fateful day…it WAS my fork.  I used Spikor to eat my scrambled eggs with cheese.  Today, I’m going to list some of my earliest memories.  Also, here is a picture of Mr. Thomas E. Spikor.  The E is for Elliot.

Here’s a good one…. TV dinners!  I LOVED TV dinners as a small child.  TV dinners on a character themed TV tray.  Why on earth did large metal TV trays just disappear from the universe?  I had so many cool TV trays.  They were metal, had legs that folded, and made a lot of noise when you hit them.  I’m certain I had a He-Man one of course, and MAYBE even a Dukes of Hazzard one.  Smurfs?  Perhaps.  Let’s see what cool trays I can find on eBay!

After searching, I was surprised at how few were available.  This treasure above, I know for sure housed plenty of TV dinners in my house.  There was a definite routine when it came to TV dinners on TV trays at my house.  I love routines.  I watch RAW every Monday.  I eat sushi every Thursday.  In 1986, I ate TV dinners at 6 o’clock and watched…

This was utopia.  There are things that I do now that I compare to spiritual experiences.  When I eat sushi from Tokyo Cincinnati, it sends a chill up my spine.  When I watch a good dvd bonus feature documentary while eating Chinese takeout, it puts me in a total state of relaxation.  This was the same thing.  TV dinners on a metal tray + USA Cartoon Express was so perfect, that almost 30 years later, I still get a certain feeling just THINKING about it.  I can smell the meatloaf, and I can hear the Pixie and Dixie theme.  It’s amazing, and I really hope I’m able to make those same kinds of memories for Nikoh…

Leave a Reply

