Midnight Magic – Another Boyhood Dream Comes True

I stated in the earlier post that I would be moving everything from the old site to this new site for now. So, if you REALLY want to read my old articles on Reptilian Sonya, please bare with me.  She’ll be back in all of her glowing-green glory in due time.

I’m a very lucky guy.  I’ve been given the opportunity to do a lot of things that I fantasized about a small boy.  For example, I always wanted to be involved in professional wrestling.  In 2008, I met a local promoter through a friend. His name was Johnny Diamond, and he and I bonded very quickly.  He was a former wrestler in the 60’s and 70’s, and even helped launch the career of current TNA star Abyss.  He also worked as a road agent for the WWWF (WWF/WWE) in the 1980’s, and traveled with legends such as Andre the Giant and Bobo Brazil.  We would talk wrestling on the phone for hours.  I think he was impressed that I knew my history.  I could totally hang with this guy.  I’ll never forget a story he told me about being in a bar with Bobo Brazil.  Bobo was a controversial figure.  Why?  Well, I guess because he was an African American wrestling star in the 60’s.  Anyway, Johnny and Bobo were in a bar, and the bartender said to Bobo upon his entrance, “Hey, we don’t serve colored folks here.”  Bobo replied, “Good.  I wasn’t planning on ordering one!”  I LOL’d.  So, because he was so nice and willing to give me a chance, I became the CEO character for his wrestling company, and got a chance to bump around in the ring and cut promos on fans.  I’ve always been open to going back, but I got sad news over the weekend that Johnny had passed away in February.  I’m really going to miss him.  Rest in peace my friend.  I even caught a glimpse that Dave Meltzer mentioned this in the Wrestling Observer.

I was, and still am very much a total daydreamer.  I wanted to have a TV show, and I did it.  I wanted to perform music on stage, and I still do it from time to time.  I wanted to publish a comic book, and I’m continuing to do so.  I wanted to make a movie, and ummm…I discovered that I’m not a filmmaker.  Anyway, a dream or a goal that I thought would always be out of my reach, was producing, designing, and developing a classic console video game.

Image

This is a real thing that’s really happening.  You guys have no idea how excited I am to announce that this fall, I will be selling limited copies of an MMSBC video game for the Atari 2600 VCS.  I can’t go into great detail about it yet, but I’m working with a very talented programmer who just sent me a second beta over the weekend, and all I can tell you guys right now, is that this is unlike anything that I’ve ever played on the Atari 2600.  Except Space Invaders.  And Galaxian. And Tooth Protectors.   Honestly, all kidding aside, when I was designing the concept for the game, it really is in a league of it’s own, and in my humble, biased opinion, is a game that pushed the Atari 2600 to a new level of creativity.  I guess what I’m trying to say is…it’s a lot of fun to play.  Based on the screen shot, can you take a guess at what the gameplay will be like?  Post your thoughts in the comments!  Later!

Leave a Reply

